I Wrote A Poem

If you know me well, you know that I struggle with depression. It is a constant in my life, and probably will be as long as I live. Some days can be really dark but I believe there is always a light shining in the darkness. If you happen to read this and are battling your own demons, I hope this poem instills you with the hope that you too can rise.

I had to do an assignment for class in which we worked on a piece of writing throughout the semester. On the last day of the semester we had a publishing party and shared our pieces with the class. I write often so I didn’t think the assignment would be difficult, but I began to struggle with what I wanted my piece to be.

One day while sitting in Methodical Coffee, I came across Still I Rise by Maya Angelou, an old favorite. I was reminded that despite the struggles I was facing, I would rise, and in fact, I had already risen. I decided to capture that in a poem.

If you happen to read this and are battling your own demons, I hope this poem instills you with the hope that you too can rise.

 

A Poem Inspired by Maya Angelou 

Just like moons and like suns,

With the certainty of tides,

Just like hopes springing high,

Still I’ll rise. 

 

Depression, you seem

Oh so wise

But like mighty oak tress

Still I rise

 

You ensnare me

You darken my skies

But like the sun

Still I rise

 

You weary my heart

You ignore my cries

But like the phoenix

Still I rise

 

You make the world blurry

Before my eyes

But like warm baking bread

Still I rise

 

Truth is not within you

You are full of lies

But I know the truth

So still I rise

 

He constantly pursues me

So ardently he tries

But I’ve found a greater glory

So still I rise

 

No more will I fall

For your thin disguise

Like Jesus my Lord

Still I rise

 

 

P.S. Here’s to you, Dr. Stover.

 

Leave a Reply

